The Crummy brothers arrived in Grande Prairie in 1915 and established a mercantile business just east of this location. That store burned in 1921, and they moved across the street to another wood-frame store, which also burned in 1928. By then they had a new interest in a Chrysler franchise so instead of re-building the store, they built the J.M. Crummy Garage (out of brick) in 1929.
This photograph from ca. 1940 shows two Texaco gas pumps outside the J.M. Crummy Garage Co. Ltd., selling and servicing Dodge-Desoto cars. This building is still standing on its original site, occupied after Crummy’s Garage closed by Menzies Printers, then later as a business condo.